Essie’s “Shine of the Times”

Today I did something I don’t do very often.

I bought a polish…for $8.00.  Had you tricked, huh?  You should know me better – I’m always buying polishes!

I left campus and went home for the night and couldn’t stop myself from stopping by the Walgreens right down the street from my house.  Whoever put that store there…bad idea.  That’s not okay.

I’ve been eyeing the Essie brand for a couple of months now.  I saw them on the shelves and had seen them on a few blogs before, but I never understood why they were so amazing.  That was until, I bought my first bottle.

My bottle of Essie's "Shine of the Times"

I read a review on Scrangie for Essie’s “Shine of the Times” and I was instantly in love.  Now I love glitter, but flakies?  Come on.  I had to have it.  I’m aware that there are several dupes for this polish, but I was too excited about buying my first Essie to consider any other brand.  Here’s a picture of what’s on my nails now:

Love. And look at my pretty ring!

I used Wet n'Wild Black Creme underneath.

In the shade it takes on more of a gold and green tone.

In the light it's orange and red and wow!

Please excuse the clear nail polish I’ve managed to get all over my cuticles.  Now that I have a blog I’ll have to take more care of my hands!

Needless to say, I’m in love.  I love how this color is sort of holographic and shifts colors on my nails.  Over black, it looks amazing.  I haven’t tried it on any other color yet, but I’m sure that I will be soon.  I would say if you have the money, definitely go out and splurge on this polish.  It’s unlike anything I have seen yet, and what I love the most is that it has a clear base so you can put it over any color your little heart desires!

Now that I’ve bought my first Essie polish, I think I might have to go out and buy some more!  What are your favorite Essie colors?  What do you think I should try?  Here are a few I had in mind*:

  • “Carry On” – A deep romantic burgundy.
  • “Devil’s Advocate” – A deeply devilish black plum.
  • “Lovie Dovie” – A perfect true flamingo pink.
  • “Mango Bango” – A sweet subtle coral.
  • “Bobbing for Baubles” – A deepest darkest sapphire. (I don’t usually use blues/greens but this I would make an exception for!)

* All color descriptions taken from Essie’s Website.

Disclaimer: None of these items were given to me for review.

4 thoughts on “Essie’s “Shine of the Times”

Leave me a comment!

