Compliments to the Chef

You know what can make my day so much better? A compliment. More specifically, a compliment on my nails.

It might sound weird, but I really do put a lot of thought into my manicures. Sometimes I know exactly what I want and I can choose a color in less than five minutes; other times I sit in front of my Box of Beauties completely indecisive. It all depends on how I am a feeling. A bright color screams, “Hey! I want to be noticed!!!” A dark color is mysterious and classy. A design shows uniqueness and creativity. The weather also weighs in (that’s part of why I don’t like summer – my dark colors seem out of place).

So far this week, I haven’t gone one day (or even one place) without a compliment on my Essie Shine of the Times Manicure! It is so eye-catching, and everyone is so confused as to how I got the effect! Part of me doesn’t want to tell them it’s just a glitter flake top coat…but I always do. 🙂 It’s almost Sunday! That means time for a new manicure. I cant decide if I want to rock a simple, bright mani or a cute Valentines Day one. I might even throw my Shine of the Times over another color!

Whatever I decide, I’ll try to post a little tutorial and show you guys what I come up with!

4 thoughts on “Compliments to the Chef

  1. That is so funny! I am the same way about getting compliments on my nails. I sometimes spend a lot of time sponging, marbling, konading, etc so it’s always nice when other people notice it. However, recently I keep getting asked: are those nail stickers/polish strips? NOOOOOOOOOOOO! I don’t have anything against polish strips but I actually put a lot of work into my manicures and don’t take the lazy route. I have the two flaky luxeffects polishes which is the reason why I wasn’t really interested in the Fingerpaints collection of flaky topcoats. In all honesty, I did want to get a look at them at Sally’s but the display was always empty when I went in so I guess it wasn’t meant to be!

    • I love the reaction people have when they ask if it’s a stamp or a strip and you say no! It’s amazing! They get really excited usually. I think nails are like a little canvas. It’s so excited trying new things! How do you do sponging?! And I haven’t even heard of the Fingerpaints collection, I’ll have to check it out!

      • It’s so hard to explain to people how much I love nail stuff. Even my friends who like to get manicures and such tell me that I have wayyyyy too much nail polish. That is why I love blogging because I know there are so many polish fiends like me out there. As far as sponging, you basically apply a solid color and then you take a little piece of a sponge (cosmetic sponge like the kind you can use for foundation) and hold it with some tweezers. Then you apply a different color on the sponge and then you sponge/press it all over your nail. It works best if the base color is still a little tacky. You can create some pretty interesting color combinations and you can even do that gradient look using different polishes in the same color family. I am not sure if the Fingerpaints flakie polishes are still around. They were only sold in store at Sally Beauty Supply and not online which was silly…and they are limited edition. That sucks.

      • I’ll look them up online!

        And I am definitely going to try sponging sometime soon! I just did a cute Valentines Day Manicure, I’ll post something later! And yes that is one of the many reasons I love blogging, knowing that there is so much creativity out there that is similar to me! I love the internet bonds! 🙂

Leave me a comment!

