L.O.V.E.

Valentines Day is just around the corner and even though I have no plans for myself, I feel like it’s be a nail polish sin to not do a V-Day themed mani!    Here’s a short little tutorial for what I’m rocking on my nails right now.  Simple but super adorable and lovey-dovey.  Hope you enjoy!

Cut, file, and shape your nails however you like them!  I applied Burt’s Bees Lemon Butter Cuticle Cream, let it soak in for about an hour, then I washed my hands.  It really moisturizes your cuticles, especially after using an acetone polish remover.  Apply your favorite base coat and let it dry.  Right now I’m using Sinful Colors Basecoat.  The Sinful Colors Basecoat works very well.  I haven’t experienced any staining other than one incident with a really cheap lime green color.  I’m almost out of the polish though and I’d like to experiment!  What do you suggest I try?

Using a pink or purple (or a mixture of both like me) and paint all fingers but one.  I chose my ring finger this time.  On your chosen accent nail, use a light bubble gum pink (or a lavender if you chose the purple route).  For my glitter, I used Sinful Colors in “I Miss You“.  It’s a magenta and pink mixture of fine glitter suspended in a pink tinted base.  Two coats gave me full coverage!  In these pictures it looks very dark, but in reality it is a little more pink.  My camera didn’t want to cooperate today.  For my accent nail, I used Sally Hansen’s Xtreme Wear in “Bubblegum Pink“.  It is the perfect Barbie Pink with a tiny hint of shimmer!  So adorable.

Using a white nail polish and any tool you have on hand, write the letters “LOVE” in a pattern like shown above!  I once saw a picture with love written like that, and I always thought it was cute.  Why not put in on a nail?!  To make my letters, I used a bobby pin – super classy and college dorm like.  You could use a dotting tool, nail polish pen, or a really skinny brush as well!

I debated putting glitter over the nail, but I think I have enough glitter to spare on all my other fingers.  Top with your favorite top coat and show those beauties off!  If you attempt this manicure or have any other adorable Valentine’s Day manicure ideas, please comment and share!  Don’t forget to suggest a base coat too!  I’m getting low and I’m at a loss for what to buy next!  🙂

What are your plans for Valentine’s Day?

4 thoughts on “L.O.V.E.

Leave me a comment!

