Love to the Big Dipper and Back

It’s only the day after Valentines Day and I’m already done with my glittery pink nails.  They were adorable, but it’s back to the dark colors for me.  Today I’m going to show you how I do a half moon manicure!  The colors I chose for today are a little bit special though…

After becoming a new member in a sorority, I thought it was completely necessary to buy nail polish colors that represented my chapter.  Alpha Phi colors are silver and bordeaux…so I’m definitely repping the ΑΦ this week.  Oh, and it’s Big/Little Week!  So hopefully my secret big will love my nails as much as I do! 🙂

Before we get started, I’m going to explain a couple of important things to keep in mind when doing a half moon manicure.  I’ve definitely tried (and failed) at many different tips and tricks and I think I finally have a system down.  First of all, when choosing your two colors, try to choose carefully so that one color is lighter than the other.  Or, have one color that is less opaque than the other.  The reason for this is because when you paint over your base color, you don’t want to have to do more than two coats of your top color (one if you’re lucky).  Also, you want both colors to pop!  For example, using a dark blue as your base color and an opaque pink shimmer as your top color probably won’t give you the same result as a base color of gold and a top color of black (one of my favorite combos)!  Second, make sure your hands are clean!!!  I tried this manicure on a friend that had just peeled an orange…and it was horrible.  I’ll explain this all in more detail below.

I apologize for beginning a lot of my sentences with “if”.  I just want to make sure I share all of my past mistakes with you so you don’t make the same ones!  🙂

Like always, start with clean nails and apply your base coat.  I’m still using Sinful Colors (and still looking for a new brand to try).
I recommend using a base coat for a couple of reasons: it can nourish your nails depending on the type you buy and it protects against staining.  One time I used a lime green without a base coat…I had green alien nails for a couple of weeks.  Ew.

Paint your nails with one or two coats (depending on how opaque it is) of a polish.  This is your base color.  I used Wet n’ Wild Fast Dry Color in “Silvivor”.  I bought mine at Walgreens for $1.99, but I can’t seem to find a link to buy it online!  Sorry!  This color had nice coverage in two coats and it’s really chrome-like.  I’d definitely wear it alone or maybe with a cute glitter on top!

Important: Let your base color dry completely!  After it is completely dry, wash your hands!
Tonight I painted my base color and then went out to dinner.  By the time I got back it was completely dry, so I was good to go!

 Using hole reinforcements (you know, those sticky circles you put on hole punched paper if it rips, click here if my description isn’t doing it for you), place them close to your cuticle.  You can place them as close to your cuticle as you like, the only difference this will make is how big of a “half moon” you have when you are finished.  I suggest you either tear your stickers in half or just tear the circle apart.  If you try to stick the circle on your nail when it isn’t ripped apart, it won’t lay flat and polish will get underneath the sticker, ruining the design.  Also, if you don’t have clean nails, the reinforcements will not stick to your nails, hence the orange peel story.  If your nail polish isn’t dry, when you peel off the reinforcement the base color will come off with it and it will be just a disaster.  Trust me.

Paint your top color over the top of your nail, like shown above.  After about 30 seconds, if your top color doesn’t need a second coat, gently peel off the reinforcement.  If you let it dry with the sticker still on your nail, the top color will peel off.  Trust me, again.  Above, I used NYC Minute Nail Color in “Manhattan”.  In the picture it looks really dark but in reality it is a dark purple/red – bordeaux!

Repeat for all of your nails and…

Ta-Da!  Classy Half Moon Alpha Phi nails ready to go!  So cute and way easier than anyone would imagine!  You can put a glitter coat over one of your fingers if you’re into having an accent nail.  I think I’m going to leave these ones plain.

The half moon manicure has become my go to design.  It’s a lot more unique than just one color, and it’s really eye catching!

Would you rock this design?  What two colors do you think would go great together?  I have so many color combination ideas I can’t wait to share!

Have a great week everyone!  And hi to all of my ΑΦ sisters! ❤

3 thoughts on “Love to the Big Dipper and Back

  1. I’ve never tried this despite liking the way it looks. I am definitely going to try this with some combination of blue, green and teal. I have gone through all those pains when using tape or sticky nail guides when I’m trying to be creative so your tips are great for someone who hasn’t tried this out before.

  2. Oh, and I forgot to make a comment about basecoats. I’ve tried A LOT of base coats and my favorite is definitely China Glaze’s Strong Adhesion Basecoat. It’s awesome!! I am also trying to like Orly’s Bonder but sometimes it acts crazy on me and makes my nail polish peel off! It has a rubberized finish which is supposed to hold on to the polish better.

Leave me a comment!

