Vintage Rose Tutorial

Finally! A chance to do a fancy manicure! This week has been absolutely crazy, but the good news is that it’s almost over! All of my homework is done and now all I have to do is get through one more day of work and classes. Whew!

So what I have for you today is a vintage rose tutorial. I’ve always thought that roses on nails were classy and cute, but I could never figure out how to make them look just right. I think I finally figured it out. This manicure is totally adaptable, so if you wanted to switch some colors around it would still be super adorable!

20120323-012045.jpg
Like always, start off with your favorite base coat. I’m getting to the end of my bottle of Sinful Colors Base Coat, but I gave up buying nail polish for lent so I have to make it last!

20120323-012146.jpg
I love my dark colors, specifically this one! Next, I did two coats of Nicole by OPI’s “Khloe Had A Little Lam Lam”, a dark teal-green that just screams vintage to me.

20120323-012308.jpg

20120323-012318.jpg
Using the tip of the brush that comes in the bottle, or another tool if you’d like, make random light pink spots on your nails. They can vary in size, but overall keep them kind of small. The illusion of roses will not work if the pink spots are too large. Here I used Sally Hanson’s Xtreme Wear in “Bubblegum Pink”.
*Ew!  Acetone dries out your skin so bad!  It’s so gross but I can’t put lotion on in the middle of a manicure! 😦  I apologize!

20120323-012501.jpg

20120323-012508.jpg
Next, using any tool you are comfortable with (I used a bobby pin), make very small “U” shapes in and around each pink spot. Roses when they have not bloomed seem to have a swirl coming from the center and going towards the edges. To do this, I made one swirl starting in the middle of the spot and ending on the edge of the pink spot. I added one more small line around the edge of the spot. You want to use a darker pink color, but not too drastically different. Here I used OPI’s “Charged Up Cherry”.

20120323-012755.jpg

20120323-012800.jpg
Using a shade of green, make very tiny leaves around your roses. Make some single leaves, and make others double! This color is a very old color from Claire’s, it is called “Mean Green”. I didn’t want to use too dark of a green because of my base color, so this worked out perfectly!

20120323-013008.jpg
Finally, to give it a vintage feel, I topped it off with Essie’s Matte About You, which I’ve been longing for for so long.

I absolutely love this design. It is classy but definitely appropriate for spring. Next time, I might try using a nude color underneath and maybe a light shimmer underneath the matte coat. That might be even more vintage!

How do you like this design? Have you tried a rose themed design before? If you were to replicate this nail art, what color would you choose as your base color?!

I’d love it if you shared pictures of your interpretations of this design. If you get around to trying it out, send me photos!

5 thoughts on “Vintage Rose Tutorial

Leave me a comment!

