If At First You Don’t Succeed…

After experiencing what I would refer to as a nail art fail, I was left with naked nails.  I decided to polish them with one of my new favorite shades, Revlon Minted, and see what I could come up with.

If you’re interested in seeing this color on it’s own, you can find a picture here.  I really hope that there are dupes for this color, because the formula really frustrates me sometimes.  It is a little streaky and you have to apply it extra carefully so it looks smooth.  It also takes three coats to be completely opaque.  Hmm…any ideas?

 I searched the internet for some inspiration, and I came across a tutorial on Nailside that was super cool!  Sorry that the lighting in the next couple of pictures is off – it was one in the morning and I was using a little desk lamp!

20120617-012650.jpg

Using tape, place one piece diagonally across your nail.  Cut a small triangle shape of tape as well, and place it as shown above, with one of the points pointing in the same direction as the diagonal.  Does that make sense?  Thank goodness for pictures, because that is hard to describe!

20120617-012655.jpg

I used a silver shade and painted over the exposed area.

20120617-012701.jpg

Remove the tape immediately so the polish doesn’t dry.  If it dries and you try to take the tape off, the polish will come right off with it!

20120617-012706.jpg

I wanted to add a little more color, so I used a black nail striping brush and added a line in between the two colors.  I really love this nail art, and it is so easy!  I think I might go ahead and put it on all of my nails!

Yay for not failing at nail art!!!

Have a beautiful rest of your day! 🙂

8 thoughts on “If At First You Don’t Succeed…

  1. It isn’t just me! I tried to do a tape pedicure and it ended up peeling the polish off with the tape. I tried it again as a manicure and it went well. Practice, practice – and for me, patience, patience. LOL It looks really cute!

    • Yeah you have to take the tape off almost immediately! Thats why it’s hard, because if you use a color that is too sheer that needs a few coats you’re out of luck! But yeah practice makes perfect!

  2. I noticed too.. that if you paint your nails one night and then come back for the nail art the next night, you are gauranteed for them to be super dry and it doesnt peel. i have tried that sometimes before. looks super cute!

  3. that is a really cute nail design! especially with all of the comic book movies coming out this summer ^_^ i LOVE Revlon polishes so I’m sad this formula didn’t work well for you. and I’m having a $50 gift card giveaway, check it out!

    • Thank you so much! And that is very true! It looks similar to those exploding speech bubbles! I love Revlon as well, so it is unfortunate! I’m headed over to your blog right now! 🙂 Thank you for reading!

Leave me a comment!

