Fishtail Braid Nail Art

I’m all moved into my room at the sorority house (yay!) and finally have a chance to update my blog.  I’ve finished packing and unpacking, which took forever and is so annoying…especially when you do it several times a year.

I’ve been seeing this technique everywhere online and I was so excited to try it.  This was my first try, and I think it went pretty well.  I definitely learned a few things about how to do it better next time and I’m looking forward to trying it again.

First, you want to choose three colors that go well together.  What I learned is that you should choose colors that are opaque, and possible one that is metallic, shimmery, or glittery.  This way, at least one of the colors will pop!

20120817-003802.jpg

I started with two coats of Color Club Age of Aquarius.

20120817-003808.jpg

This hot, glittery pink is a Zoya color, and I’m not sure exactly what the name is!  Paint one stripe from the left to the right.  The right side isn’t going to show so you want to make sure that the left side is the most opaque.

20120817-003818.jpg

Using your second color (I used Sally Hansen’s Black Out), paint a short stripe from the right side to the left.

20120817-003826.jpg

Using the same color as your base color, paint a third stripe from the left to the right.  You want to cover most of the first stripe, and just leave a small pink stripe showing.

20120817-003831.jpg

Continue making stripes with the same color pattern until you get all the way down your nail.  You want to end with one stripe that ends on the corner of your nail (you can see the Age of Aquarius on the right).  As you can tell, the pink I chose is a little sheer, and I wish I would have used something more opaque!  Also, using it right next to the black hid a lot of the color.

I really like how this turned out, but it took a ton of time and then it didn’t look perfect!  I was pretty disappointed, but I really like the effect.  I can’t wait to try it again!

What do you think?!  Have you tried this technique?  What colors would you use?

2 thoughts on “Fishtail Braid Nail Art

Leave me a comment!

